In Sanskrit, the word “chakra” means “disk” or “wheel” and refers to the energy centers in your body. These wheels or disks of spinning energy each correspond to certain nerve bundles and major organs. To function at their best, your chakras need to stay open, or balanced. If they get blocked, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms related to a particular chakra.

There are seven main chakras that run along your spine. They start at the root, or base, of your spine and extend to the crown of your head. 

1. Root Chakra or the Muladhara

  • Location: Below the sacrum bone (base of the spine)
  • Endocrine System: Adrenal glands
  • Organs/System Affected: Large intestine and rectum; some influence the function of kidneys, muscular system, and the fat cells.
  • Deficiency/Excess: Disorders of the bowel and large intestine, eating disorders, depression and immune related disorders, chronic lower back pain, and lack of energy.

2. Spleen Chakra or the Svadishthana

  • Location: Lower abdomen
  • Endocrine System/Hormonal Gland: Pancreas
  • Organs/System Affected: Liver, kidneys, and the lower abdomen.
  • Deficiency/Excess: Chronic back pain, sciatica, loss of appetite, blood cancer, diabetes; dysfunction of reproductive organs, spleen, and urinary system.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra or the Manipura Location: Solar plexus (below the diaphragm)

  • Endocrine System: Pancreas and the adrenal glands
  • Organ/System Affected: Respiratory system, the digestive system, the lower back, the sympathetic nervous system, the pancreas, spleen, and the liver.
  • Deficiency/Excess: Stomach and liver problems leading to digestive disorders, diabetes, pancreatitis, arthritis, and allergy.

4. Heart Chakra or the Anahata

  • Location: Chest
  • Endocrine System: The thymus gland
  • Organ/System Affected: Heart and circulatory system, the pulmonary system, the immune system, upper back, shoulders and arms.
  • Deficiency/Excess: Disorders of the heart or lungs, asthma, allergies, immune deficiency problems, and tension between shoulder blades.

5. Purification Chakra or the Vishuddhi

  • Location: Throat
  • Endocrine System: The thyroid and the parathyroid glands
  • Organ/System Affected: Throat, neck, mouth, teeth and gums, ears, muscles.
  • Deficiency/Excess: Chronic throat problems, mouth ulcers, laryngitis and thyroid problems, ear infections, headaches, and pain in the neck and shoulders.

6. Third Eye Chakra or the Ajna

  • Location: Between the brows.
  • Endocrine System: Pituitary and the pineal glands.
  • Organ/System Affected: Brain, nervous system, eyes, ears, nose and the sinuses.
  • Deficiency/Excess: Headaches, ear and eye problems, brain tumor, stroke, neurological disturbances, learning disabilities, and spinal disorders.

7. Crown Chakra or the Sahasrara

  • Location: The crown of the skull
  • Endocrine System/Nervous system: Pineal gland in the brain / central nervous system
  • Organ/System affected: Cerebrum, top of the spinal cord, brain stem, pain center and nerves.
  • Deficiency/Excess: Constant sense of frustration, no joy, destructive feelings, migraine headaches and depression. Excess of energy in this chakra causes confusion, spiritual addiction, and dissociation from body.

Every chakra rotates at a specific frequency and speed. This frequency and speed can change due to various factors like diet, lifestyle, thought patterns, etc. An imbalance starts creating problems with the distribution of the pranas. Imagine what will happen if a 50 watt light bulb starts getting a 500 watt or 10-watt electricity supply! When we speak about balancing or awakening the chakras, we mean bringing them back to their regular speed. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here